Next year Connellsville Native, Samuel Kilpatrick’s statue of Col. Crawford will have been standing in the same spot at the Connellsville Carnegie Free library for 100 years! Happy Birthday!! This statue is in some need of restoration, as with any statue that has been out in the elements for 100 years. Within the pedestal of the statue of Colonel William Crawford is the following inscription provided in a keystone-shaped plaque:
In memory of COLONEL WILLIAM CRAWFORD born in Berkeley County, Virginia, in 1732 Friend of Washington -- Pioneer -- Patriot
This monument is situated 1260 yards S. 69 E. 16' of the spot where he built his log cabin in 1765 on the west bank of the Youghiogheny River, at the historic STEWART'S CROSSINGS.He first visited the region west of the mountains in 1758, as an officer in the expedition of General Forbes against Fort Duquesne. As a Colonel of the Seventh Virginia Regiment, he crossed the Delaware with Washington in 1777, and shared in the victory at Trenton. Fighting in defense of the frontier, as a commander of the Sandusky Expedition, he was captured by the Indians and burned at the stake near Crawfordsville, Ohio, June, 11, 1782,----------
Erected by The Pennsylvania Historical Commission The City of Connellsville and Grateful Citizens 1917.
Soon we will start to explore ways in which to professionally preserve this statue for more centuries to come. Samuel Kilpatrick was a famous artist who painted the 7’ x 10’ painting of George Washington at the court house in Uniontown. That painting was actually commissioned by another famous native, William A. Clark, and given to Uniontown by Clark on October 14th 1908. A statue of George Washington, created by Samuel Kilpatrick, still exists in Waterford, Pennsylvania at the Fort LeBoeuf Chapter Washington Memorial Lot.